Utah Eviction Notice
Landlords in Utah must follow the specific rule when evicting a tenant. If the landlord does not follow the laid down procedures when evicting a tenant the eviction is considered not valid. A Utah eviction notice must adhere with Utah statutes. The notice to quit should include a certain amount of time the tenant is given to correct the reason the eviction notice was given. In Utah, some landlords issue a 3-day notice in most instances or a 5-day in other instances.
Reasons to issue a Utah eviction notice
Evictions in Utah happen for many reasons, but the most common ones include:
- Late rent payment. This is a common reason for eviction in Utah.
- Property damage. Some landlords or property managers initiate an eviction process after the tenants incur excessive damage to the property.
- Breach of special clauses in the lease/rental agreement. As a landlord in Utah, you may at some point be able to evict a tenant who breaches the terms and conditions of the lease agreement such as no roommates, pets, and so on.
- Disturbance. If your tenant repeatedly causes distress to another tenant, you can issue them with an eviction notice. You will only need letters from other tenants or proof such as copies of noise ordinance violations.
- Smoking. If you specified that no smoking is allowed and your renter frequently violates this rule, you could always evict them.
How to write Utah eviction notice
Our eviction notice form has made it easy and more straightforward to create a Utah eviction notice. As a landlord, you’ll only need to key in some few details, and you’re good to go. Below is a guide on how to write a Utah notice to quit.
The first section on our eviction notice template requires landlord’s information such as name, legal, physical address, city, state and zip code. Our notice to quit form caters for two landlords and up to four tenants.
The next step is to write the tenant’s information as you did on the “landlord’s information” part. On the “premises information” section, you’re supposed to write down some few information that would help point out the specific location of the property in question. Such information includes the premise type, address, city, state and zip code.
In “terms of the notice” part indicates the date when the tenant committed the violation and provide a detailed explanation of the breach. We recommend that you mention the specific clause in the lease/rental agreement that was violated.
You should state the action that you’ll take against the tenant for the violation of the four options provided in our Utah eviction notice template.
The last part of our Utah eviction notice form will require you to indicate when the document will be signed if proof of service is available and the number of witnesses to sign the document. You can also customize the form and add a couple of extra section to include as much information as possible.
Avoid DIY evictions in Utah
No matter how mad you may be with a tenant, you should avoid DIY evictions. We recommend you carefully document all your communications with the tenant and file the necessary paperwork with the courts. If you go rogue by visiting the tenant’s dwelling unit without notice of entry, turn off utilities or change locks- everything might backfire and end up on the losing side.
Additionally, you should also refrain from excessive text messaging or calls because the courts might consider it as harassment.